San Mateo County Logo
Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Bookmark and Share
File #: 22-781    Version: 1 Name:
Type: Miscellaneous Status: Agenda Ready
File created: 10/3/2022 Departments: BOARD OF SUPERVISORS DISTRICT 3
On agenda: 10/18/2022 Final action:
Title: Receive staff report regarding proposed minimum wage ordinance, receive public input regarding proposed minimum wage ordinance, and direct staff to develop and present to the Board of Supervisors for its consideration a Minimum Wage Ordinance.
Sponsors: Dave Pine, Don Horsley
Date Ver.Action ByActionResultAction DetailsMeeting DetailsVideo
No records to display.
Special Notice / Hearing: None
Vote Required: Majority

To: Honorable Board of Supervisors
From: Supervisor Dave Pine, District 1
Supervisor Don Horsley, District 3
Subject: Study Session: Proposed Minimum Wage Ordinance for Unincorporated San Mateo County

RECOMMENDATION:
title
Receive staff report regarding proposed minimum wage ordinance, receive public input regarding proposed minimum wage ordinance, and direct staff to develop and present to the Board of Supervisors for its consideration a Minimum Wage Ordinance.

body
BACKGROUND:
Presently, San Mateo County does not have an ordinance setting a minimum wage in the unincorporated area. Therefore, employers are required to pay the minimum wage mandated by the State of California. Pursuant to Section 1182.12 of the California Labor Code and with certain limited exceptions (e.g., no minimum wage required of employee family members, apprentices, etc.), the minimum wage in California is currently $14 per hour for employers with 25 or fewer employees and $15 per hour for employers with 26 or more employees.

The Legislature amended and increased the California minimum wage in 2016 by adopting Senate Bill (SB) 3 (Leno). The law phased in annual increases beginning in 2017, with an end goal of increasing the minimum wage from $10 to $15 per hour. The minimum wage for employers with 26 or more employees increased to $15 per hour at the beginning of 2022 and to $14 per hour for smaller employers with 25 or fewer employees, with the minimum wage for such small employers scheduled to increase to the same rate as that payable to employees of larger employers at the beginning of 2023.

SB 3 also provides for subsequent adjustments to the State minimum wage based on increases to the U.S. Consumer Price Index (U.S. CPI-W), subject to a 3.5% annual cap.

In July 2022, the California Department of Finance certified that given the rate of inflation during the 2021-2022 fiscal year and the increase to the U.S. CPI...

Click here for full text