

County of San Mateo

Inter-Departmental Correspondence

Department: BOARD OF SUPERVISORS

DISTRICT 2 **File #:** 23-635

Board Meeting Date: 7/25/2023

Special Notice / Hearing: None

Vote Required: Majority

To: Honorable Board of Supervisors

From: Supervisor Noelia Corzo, District 2

Subject: Appointments to the Youth Commission

RECOMMENDATION:

Recommendation for the appointments of twenty-seven (27) youth members to the Youth Commission, each for a one-year term ending June 30, 2024.

BACKGROUND:

The Youth Commission was established in 1993 and created to address issues affecting youth in San Mateo County as an advisory body to the Board of Supervisors. In this role, the Youth Commission strives to close the gap between adult and youth perspectives, increase awareness of and advocate on behalf of youth issues, present policy recommendations, and lead projects that serve the community.

The Board of Supervisors is responsible for appointing new members to the Youth Commission. Youth Commissioners are appointed for one-year terms of office. Youth Commissioners may serve up to four terms or until reaching the age of twenty-one (21).

DISCUSSION:

Based on applicant interviews, County staff recommend the Board of Supervisors appoint the following youth as members of the Youth Commission for a one-year term, ending June 30, 2024:

- 1. Zayne Abraham, Foster City, Aragon High School
- 2. Zahara Agarwal, Menlo Park, Menlo-Atherton High School
- 3. Yakira Braunstein, Belmont, Nesbit Middle School
- 4. Soha Budhani, Menlo Park, Pinewood School
- 5. Ava Chan, Foster City, Crystal Springs Uplands School
- 6. Valeria Chavez-Franco, San Mateo, Woodside Priory School
- 7. Molly Chen, Atherton, Crystal Springs Uplands School

- 8. Noor Chowdhary, Foster City, San Mateo High School
- 9. Isabelle Escobar, Pacifica, Skyline College
- 10. Avani Ganesan, Atherton, Menlo School
- 11. Natalie Handel, Half Moon Bay, Half Moon Bay High School
- 12. Alston Ho, Daly City, Summit Shasta Public School
- 13. Nikhil Kothari, Menlo Park, Menlo School
- 14. Matthew Lau, San Mateo, Aragon High School
- 15. Wesley Liu, San Bruno, Pacific Bay Christian School
- 16. Anjuli Mishra, Burlingame, The Nueva School
- 17. Ameya Nori, Atherton, Menlo-Atherton High School
- 18. Alondra Ordonez, Belmont, Notre Dame High School
- 19 Adele Ryono, San Mateo, Aragon High School
- 20. Tara Sardana, San Mateo, Aragon High School
- 21. Alina Shah, Foster City, San Mateo High School
- 22. Rikhav Shah, Hillsborough, Crystal Springs Upland School
- 23. Amani Shroff, Redwood City, Carlmont High School
- 24. Elise Spenner, Burlingame, Burlingame High School
- 25. Cassidy Watson, San Carlos, Sequoia High School
- 26. Bethany Zhao, Pacifica, Oceana High School
- 27. Joy Zhou, Foster City, San Mateo High School

FISCAL IMPACT:

None.