

County of San Mateo

Inter-Departmental Correspondence

Department: BOARD OF SUPERVISORS

DISTRICT 2 File #: 20-453

Board Meeting Date: 6/30/2020

Special Notice / Hearing: None

Vote Required: Majority

To: Honorable Board of Supervisors

From: Supervisor Carole Groom, District 2

Subject: Appointments to the Youth Commission

RECOMMENDATION:

Recommendation for the appointment of 27 youth to the Youth Commission, each for a term ending June 30, 2021.

BACKGROUND:

The Youth Commission was established in 1993 and created to address issues affecting youth in San Mateo County as an advisory body to the Board of Supervisors. In this role, the Youth Commission strives to close the gap between adult and youth perspectives, increase awareness of and advocate on behalf of youth issues, present policy recommendations and lead projects that serve the community.

The Board of Supervisors is responsible for appointing new members to the Youth Commission, based on interviews with applicants. Youth Commissioners are appointed to one-year terms of office that will end June 30, 2021. Youth Commissioners may serve up to four terms until the age of 21.

DISCUSSION:

It is recommended that the Board of Supervisors appoint the following youth as members of the Youth Commission:

- 1. Karla Aguilar, Redwood City, Notre Dame High School
- 2. Maram Ahmed, Millbrae, Mills High School
- 3. Shay Barton, Pescadero, Pescadero High School
- 4. Noah Braunstein, Belmont, Carlmont High School
- 5. Aeneas Bufiy, South San Francisco, Notre Dame Des Victoires
- 6. Allyson Chan, Foster City, Hillsdale High School
- 7. Lilian Chang, Millbrae, Mills High School
- 8. Evan Hua, Foster City, San Mateo High School
- 9. Luis Galindo Leyva, Belmont, Notre Dame de Namur University

- 10. Carrie Ho, Millbrae, Mills High School
- 11. Stella Kaval, Menlo Park, Menlo Atherton High School
- 12. Sophie Mateja, Pescadero, Pescadero High School
- 13. Javier Nino-Sears, San Carlos, Sequoia High School
- 14. Ameya Nori, Atherton, Hillview School
- 15. Sathvik Nori, Atherton, Menlo-Atherton High School
- 16. Nick Reed, Burlingame, Burlingame High School
- 17. Christian Sbragia, East Palo Alto, East Palo Alto Academy
- 18. Joseph Scatena, San Carlos, Serra High School
- 19. Vikram Seshadri, Menlo Park, Menlo School
- 20. Atiya Shah, Foster City, San Mateo High School
- 21. Dilara Sumbul, San Carlos, Sequoia High School
- 22. Ryan Teh, Millbrae, Burlingame High School
- 23. Austin Willis, Hillsborough, Crystal Springs Upland School
- 24. Maria Valladares Lozano, Daly City, Saint Ignatius High School
- 25. Laura Weppner, Redwood City, Woodside High School
- 26. Annli Zhu, San Mateo, Nueva School
- 27. Anping Zhu, San Mateo, Nueva School

FISCAL IMPACT:

None.