

County of San Mateo

Inter-Departmental Correspondence

Department: BOARD OF SUPERVISORS DISTRICT 2 File #: 19-788

Board Meeting Date: 8/6/2019

Special Notice / Hearing: None Vote Required: Majority

To: Honorable Board of Supervisors

From: Supervisor Carole Groom

Subject: Appointments to the Youth Commission

RECOMMENDATION:

Recommendation for the appointment of 26 youth to the Youth Commission, each for a term ending June 30, 2020.

BACKGROUND:

The Youth Commission was established in 1993 and created to address issues affecting youth in San Mateo County as an advisory body to the Board of Supervisors. In this role, the Youth Commission strives to close the gap between adult and youth perspectives, increase awareness of and advocate on behalf of youth issues, present policy recommendations and lead projects that serve the community.

The Board of Supervisors is responsible for appointing new members to the Youth Commission, based on interviews with applicants. Youth Commissioners are appointed to one-year terms of office that will end June 30, 2020. Youth Commissioners may serve up to four terms until the age of 21.

DISCUSSION:

It is recommended that the Board of Supervisors appoint the following youth as members of the Youth Commission:

- 1. Shay Barton, Pescadero, Pescadero High School
- 2. Eeshan Bhat, Foster City, San Mateo High School
- 3. Aeneas Bufiy, South San Francisco, Notre Dame Des Victoires
- 4. Allyson Chan, Foster City, Hillsdale High School
- 5. Lilian Chang, Millbrae, Mills High School
- 6. Jade Costello, Belmont, Notre Dame High School
- 7. Evan Hua, Foster City, San Mateo High School
- 8. Luis Galindo Leyva, Belmont, Notre Dame de Namur University

- 9. Carrie Ho, Millbrae, Mills High School
- 10. Stella Kaval, Menlo Park, Menlo Atherton High School
- 11. Sophie Mateja, Pescadero, Pescadero High School
- 12. Sydney Mufarreh, Millbrae, Mills High School
- 13. Javier Nino-Sears, San Carlos, Sequoia High School
- 14. Sathvik Nori, Atherton, Menlo-Atherton High School
- 15. Meghan Pama, Daly City, Jefferson High School
- 16. Sarah Pistorino, Menlo Park, Lydian School/Foothill College
- 17. Joseph Scatena, San Carlos, Serra High School
- 18. Vikram Seshadri, Menlo Park, Menlo School
- 19. Atiya Shah, Foster City, San Mateo High School
- 20. Asante Spencer, San Mateo, Aragon High School
- 21. Dilara Sumbul, San Carlos, Sequoia High School
- 22. Ryan Teh, Millbrae, Burlingame Immediate School
- 23. Josh Tseng, San Mateo, Stanford OHS
- 24. Vineela Vandanapu, Redwood City, Notre Dame High School
- 25. Laura Weppner, Redwood City, Woodside High School
- 26. Austin Willis, Hillsborough, Crystal Springs Upland School

FISCAL IMPACT:

None