

County of San Mateo

Inter-Departmental Correspondence

Department: BOARD OF SUPERVISORS DISTRICT 2 File #: 19-606

Board Meeting Date: 6/25/2019

Special Notice / Hearing: None Vote Required: Majority

To: Honorable Board of Supervisors

From: Carole Groom, President

Subject: San Mateo County Flood Control District Advisory Committee

RECOMMENDATION:

Adopt resolutions:

- A) Appointing two members of the County of San Mateo Board of Supervisors to the advisory committee of the San Mateo County Flood Control District and to the governing board of the proposed San Mateo County Flood and Sea Level Rise Resiliency District upon the effective date of AB 825; and
- B) Acting as the Governing Board of the San Mateo County Flood Control District, appointing a standing seven-person advisory committee to oversee the transition of operations from the current Flood Control District to an independent district in accordance with AB 825

BACKGROUND:

On January 29, 2019, the Board of Supervisors approved Resolution No. 076380, in support of the "Flood and Sea Level Rise Resiliency Agency Proposal" (Proposal) for the new San Mateo County Flood and Sea Level Rise Resiliency District (District). The Proposal includes modifying the existing San Mateo County Flood Control District (SMCFCD) to enable additional water related activities, jurisdictional areas, and establish a new governance structure. The Board of Supervisors is the SMCFCD's governing board and the SMCFCD, which was created via special State legislation in 1959, utilizes County Public Works staff for its functions.

The Proposal recommends revising the 1959 San Mateo Flood Control District Act (Act) through special legislation (AB 825) to change the governance from the Board of Supervisors to a sevenmember board consisting of five city/town council members nominated by C/CAG and two Board members nominated by the Board of Supervisors. With respect to the two members of the Board of Supervisors to be nominated to the new district board, one of the Supervisors must be "from the coastal area" of the County, as defined by the Board, and the second Supervisor may be appointed at large from any part of the County.

The revisions to the Act set forth in AB 825 would also enhance authorities related to sea level rise and coastal erosion, clarify funding/financing authorities to reflect current state regulations/constitutional restrictions, and change the name of the District to the Flood and Sea Level Rise Resiliency District (FSLRRD). The FSLRRD's mission and role would be to address sea level rise, flooding, coastal erosion, and large-scale stormwater infrastructure improvements through integrated regional planning, design, permitting, project implementation, and long-term operations and maintenance to create a resilient "one shoreline" approach in San Mateo County by 2100.

DISCUSSION:

In anticipation of the passage of AB 825, it is desirable for the existing SMCFCD to establish a sevenmember advisory committee which, after the effective date of AB 825, will serve as the FSLRRD's board. The seven seats will be filled as follows: five members will be nominated by the City/County Association of Governments (C/CAG) from the twenty city and town councils in San Mateo County and two members will be nominated by the Board of Supervisors. AB 825 provides that the five members to be nominated by C/CAG shall be as follows:

- One city/town council member nominated at-large from any city in the County
- One city/town council member from the northern area of the County (defined by C/CAG as the cites of Brisbane, Colma, South San Francisco, San Bruno, Millbrae, and Burlingame);
- One city/town council member from the central area of the County (defined by C/CAG as the cites of Hillsborough, San Mateo, Foster City, Belmont, and San Carlos);
- One city/town council member from the southern area of the County (defined by C/CAG as the cites of Redwood City, Menlo Park, East Palo Alto, Atherton, Woodside, and Portola Valley); and
- One city/town council member from the coastal area of the County (defined by C/CAG as the cites of Daly City, Pacifica, and Half Moon Bay).

C/CAG issued a solicitation of interested city and town council members to serve in the described positions and C/CAG adopted Resolution No. 19-52 on June 13, 2019 (Attachment A) appointing the following individuals to fill the above-referenced seats:

- Maryann Moise Derwin, Town of Portola Valley, representing C/CAG's at-large nominee;
- Donna Colson, City of Burlingame, representing C/CAG's nominee from the County's northern area;
- Diane Papan, City of San Mateo, representing C/CAG's nominee from the County's central area;
- Lisa Gauthier, City of East Palo Alto, representing C/CAG's nominee from the County's southern area; and
- Debbie Ruddock, City of Half Moon Bay, representing C/CAG's nominee from the County's coastal area.

It is proposed that Supervisor Don Horsley, as the County's District 3 Supervisor, be appointed as the County's nominee from the County's coastal area, and Supervisor Dave Pine be appointed as the County's at-large nominee to the advisory committee. It is further recommended that the Board specify in its resolution that Supervisors Horsley and Pine shall be the County's appointees to the

FSLRRD should AB 825 become effective.

County Counsel has reviewed and approved the attached resolutions as to form.

Approval of these resolutions will contribute to the Shared Vision 2025 outcome of a Collaborative Community by working on a multi-jurisdictional approach to addressing sea level rise, flooding, coastal erosion, and large-scale stormwater infrastructure improvements that benefit communities within the County.

FISCAL IMPACT:

There is no fiscal impact associated with the above-referenced appointments.

Attachment A: C/CAG Resolution No. 19-52, adopted on July 13, 2019