

# **County of San Mateo**

## Inter-Departmental Correspondence

**Department:** BOARD OF SUPERVISORS

DISTRICT 2 **File #:** 18-569

Board Meeting Date: 7/10/2018

Special Notice / Hearing: None

Vote Required: Majority

**To:** Honorable Board of Supervisors

**From:** Supervisor Carole Groom

**Subject:** Appointment to the Youth Commission

#### **RECOMMENDATION:**

Recommendation for the appointment of 25 youths to the Youth Commission.

## **BACKGROUND**:

The Youth Commission was established in 1993 and created to address issues affecting youth in San Mateo as an advisory body to the Board of Supervisors. In its role, the Youth Commission strives to close the gap between adult and youth perspectives, increase awareness of and advocate on behalf of youth issues, and present policy recommendations and projects that serve the community.

The Board of Supervisors is responsible for appointing new members to the Youth Commission, based on interviews with applicants. The Youth Commission may have up to 25 members. Each Youth Commissioner is appointed to a one-year term of office that ends June 30, 2019, and may serve up to four terms until the age of 21.

#### **DISCUSSION:**

It is recommended that the Board of Supervisors appoint the following youth as members of the Youth Commission:

- 1. Eeshan Bhat, Foster City, San Mateo High School
- 2. Allyson Chan, Foster City, Hillsdale High School
- 3. Lilian Chang, Millbrae, Mills High School
- 4. Leeah Coffey, South San Francisco, St. Ignatius College Prep High School
- 5. Jade Costello, Belmont, Notre Dame High School
- 6. Diego De Nault, Redwood City, Sequoia High School
- 7. Lester Gutierrez, Daly City, Pacific Bay Christian High School
- 8. Dekaye Hailu, South San Francisco, South San Francisco High School
- 9. Evan Hua, Foster City, San Mateo High School
- 10. Stella Kaval, Menlo Park, Menlo Atherton High School

- 11. Vedant Kenkare, San Mateo, Harker High School
- 12. Sydney Mufarreh, Millbrae, Mills High School
- 13. Javier Nino-Sears, San Carlos, Sequoia High School
- 14. Anjuli Niyogi, Burlingame, Mills High School
- 15. Sathvik Nori, Menlo Park, Menlo-Atherton High School
- 16. Sarah Pistorino, Menlo Park, Sacred Heart Preparatory High School
- 17. Monique Ray, South San Francisco, El Camino High School
- 18. Joseph Scatena, San Carlos, Junipero Serra High School
- 19. Vikram Seshadri, Menlo Park, Hillview Middle School
- 20. Atiya Shah, Foster City, San Mateo High School
- 21. Holman Torno, San Carlos, Junipero Serra High School
- 22. Josh Tseng, San Mateo, Stanford Online High School
- 23. Vineela Vandanapu, Redwood City, Notre Dame High School
- 24. Julianna Wing, San Bruno, Notre Dame High School
- 25. Jacob Wolin, San Mateo, Crystal Springs Uplands School

### **FISCAL IMPACT**:

None