COUNTY OF SAN MATEO BOARD OF SUPERVISORS

BOARD OF SUPERVISORS
DISTRICT 1: Dave Pine
DISTRICT 2: Noelia Corzo
DISTRICT 3: Ray Mueller
DISTRICT 4: Warren Slocum
DISTRICT 5: David J. Canepa

COUNTY EXECUTIVE/ CLERK OF THE BOARD Michael P. Callagy

COUNTY ATTORNEY
John D. Nibbelin

HALL OF JUSTICE 400 County Center Redwood City, CA 94063 Telephone: 650-363-4123

Telephone: 650-363-412 www.smcgov.org

ONDED

MINUTES - FINAL

Hall of Justice - Board Chambers

Tuesday, June 27, 2023

9:00 AM

3-Day Budget Hearing Only

IN-PERSON WITH REMOTE PUBLIC PARTICIPATION AVAILABLE

The meeting began at 9:03 a.m.

Public participation instructions were read in English by Sukhmani Purewal, Asst. Clerk of the Board. The instructions in Spanish were read by an interpreter from On Point Language Solutions LLC.

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

ROLL CALL

Present: 5 - Supervisor Dave Pine, Supervisor Noelia Corzo, Supervisor Ray Mueller, Supervisor Warren Slocum, and Supervisor David J. Canepa

HONORING THE LIFE OF / BOARD MEMBER REMARKS

None

PUBLIC COMMENT

Verbal Comment(s) via ZOOM:

John, John Muniz, Martin Fox, and Alice.

Verbal Comment(s) from Chambers:

Bill Newell

ACTION TO SET AGENDA

Motion: Corzo / Second: Canepa

Yes: 5 - Pine, Corzo, Mueller, Slocum, and Canepa

No: 0

REGULAR AGENDA - DEPARTMENT BUDGET HEARINGS:

1. Planning and Building Department - Steve Monowitz, Director

Additional Speakers recognized by the President:

Ellie Dallman - Planning and Building, Sophie Mintier - Assistant Director of Planning and Building, All Supervisors spoke on this item.

2. Probation Department - John Keene, Chief

Additional Speakers recognized by the President:

All Supervisors spoke on this item, Bill Newell, Elisabeth Rossi, Johanna Rasmussen, Paul Bocanegra, and Becca Kieler.

3. Coroner's Office - Robert Foucrault, Coroner

Additional Speakers recognized by the President:

Supervisor Warren Slocum and Supervisor David Canepa

4. Public Safety Communications - Natasha Claire-Espino, Director

Additional Speakers recognized by the President:

Supervisor Noelia Corzo, Supervisor David Canepa, Supervisor Dave Pine

5. Department of Emergency Management - Donald Mattei, Director

Additional Speakers recognized by the President:

Supervisor Ray Mueller, Supervisor David Canepa, Supervisor Warren Slocum, Supervisor Dave Pine, Carlysle Ann Young, and Fran Pollard.

The Board went into recess at 11:51 a.m.

The Board resumed to open session at 12:33 p.m. with all Supervisors present.

6. Parks Department - Nicholas Calderon, Director

Additional Speakers recognized by the President:

All Supervisors spoke on this item, Carlysle Ann Young, and Fran Pollard.

7. District Attorney's Office - Stephen Wagstaffe, District Attorney

Additional Speakers recognized by the President:

Shin-Mee Chang - Asst. District Attorney, Sean Gallaghar - Chief Deputy District Attorney, Supervisor David Canepa, Supervisor Noelia Corzo, and Supervisor Dave Pine.

8. Sheriff's Office - Christina Corpus, Sheriff

Additional Speakers recognized by the President:

All Supervisors spoke on this item, Gus Mattammal, Carlysle Ann Young,

and Martin Fox.

ADJOURNMENT

The meeting adjourned at 3:04 p.m.