# COUNTY OF SAN MATEO BOARD OF SUPERVISORS

BOARD OF SUPERVISORS
DISTRICT 1: Dave Pine
DISTRICT 2: Carole Groom
DISTRICT 3: Don Horsley
DISTRICT 4: Warren Slocum
DISTRICT 5: David J. Canepa

COUNTY MANAGER/ CLERK OF THE BOARD Michael P. Callagy

COUNTY COUNSEL
John C. Beiers

HALL OF JUSTICE 400 County Center Redwood City, CA 94063 Telephone: 650-363-4123



ONDED

# MINUTES - DRAFT

**Virtual Meeting** 

Tuesday, October 27, 2020

6:00 PM

#### SPECIAL MEETING OF THE BOARD OF SUPERVISORS

The meeting began at 6:03 p.m.

## \*\*\*BY VIDEOCONFERENCE ONLY\*\*\*

Please take notice that the President of the San Mateo County Board of Supervisors, acting pursuant to the authority of Government Code §54956, hereby calls a special meeting of the San Mateo County Board of Supervisors, to take place on Tuesday, October 27, 2020 at 6:00 PM

On March 17, 2020, the Governor issued Executive Order N-29-20 suspending certain provisions of the Ralph M. Brown Act in order to allow for local legislative bodies to conduct their meetings telephonically or by other electronic means. Thus, pursuant to Executive Order N-29-20, local and statewide health orders, and the CDC's social distancing guidelines which discourage large public gatherings, the Board chambers is no longer open to the public for meetings of the Board of Supervisors.

A video broadcast of the meeting can be viewed at: https://sanmateocounty.legistar.com. Closed Captioning will be provided for all Board meetings. While watching the video broadcast, please scroll over the video and click "CC" to turn closed captions on.

## PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

Supervisor David J. Canepa led the Pledge.

# **ROLL CALL**

Board Members Virtually Present: 4 - Supervisor Dave Pine, Supervisor Don Horsley, Supervisor David J. Canepa, and President Warren Slocum.

**Board Member Absent: 1 - Supervisor Carole Groom** 

Staff Virtually Present: Michael P. Callagy, County Manager; John C. Beiers, County Counsel; and Sherry Golestan, Deputy Clerk of the Board.

# **ACTION TO SET AGENDA**

Motion: Canepa / Second: Horsley

Yes: 4 - Pine, Slocum, Canepa, and Horsley

**No:** 0

Absent: 1 - Groom

#### **REGULAR AGENDA**

#### **BOARD OF SUPERVISORS**

# 1. Truth Act Forum (Government Code Section 7283.1(d))

**Anticipated Speakers:** 

- Sheriff Carlos Bolanos
- Captain Alma Zamora, Sheriff's Office
- Krsna Avila, Attorney, Immigrant Legal Resource Center

#### **Speakers Recognized by the President:**

Carlos Bolanos, Sheriff
Alma Zamora, Captain, Sheriff's Office
John C. Beiers, County Counsel
Krsna Avila, Staff Attorney, Immigrant Legal Resource Center

Sup. Dave Pine, Board of Supervisors

Sup. David J. Canepa, Board of Supervisors

## **PUBLIC COMMENT**

# **Speakers Recognized by the President:**

Sara Matlin, Public Comment

Chaya Gordon, Public Comment

Fatima, Public Comment

Rachel, Public Comment

Clara Jaeckel, Public Comment

Stephanie Reyes, Public Comment

Sameena Usman. Public Comment

Stephanie Lu, Public Comment

Deni Asnis, Public Comment

Deeg Gold, Public Comment

Martha Ruch, Public Comment

Beth von Emster. Public Comment

Sean McMahon, Public Comment

Sam Becker, Public Comment

Jen Myhre, Public Comment

Edwin Carmona-Cruz, Public Comment

Marita Musante, Public Comment

Angela Yip, Public Comment

Leah Kennedy, Public Comment

Jackson Bockus, Public Comment

Kaye Bonney, Public Comment

Saira Hussain, Public Comment

Alex Melendrez, Public Comment

Priya Murthy, Public Comment

Cristina dos Santos, Public Comment

Michele Gustafson, Public Comment

David Usher, Public Comment

Victoria Becker, Public Comment

Mohit Mookim. Public Comment

Madeline Musante, Public Comment

Cathy Baird, Public Comment

Nora Melendez, Public Comment

Emma Stanford, Public Comment

Ny Nourn, Public Comment

Amanda Doherty, Public Comment

Deborah Garfinkle, Public Comment

Itzel Calvo, Public Comment

Sarah Lee. Public Comment

Arifa, Public Comment

Blue Murov, Public Comment

Gail Redanovic, Public Comment

Sergio Cruz (Interpretation provided by Victor Hernandez), Public

Comment

Alma Ortega, Public Comment

Julie Starobin, Public Comment

Eunice Hernandez, Public Comment

Maricela Gutierrez, Public Comment

Meghana, Public Comment

Nina R., Public Comment

Dr. Nancy Goodban, Public Comment

Olamide, Public Comment

Ana C., Public Comment

Lourdes Best, Public Comment

Sheisy, Public Comment

Yiran Liu, Public Comment

Fabiola, Public Comment

Martin Steinman, Public Comment

Abelardo Baldovinos Nava, Public Comment

Heather Hopkins, Public Comment

Niloufar Khonsari, Public Comment

Ximena Valdarrago, Public Comment

Marcos Cruz, Public Comment

Juan Jocop (Interpretation provided by Victor Hernandez), Public Comment

Heather Cleary, Public Comment

Miosottitenecora, Public Comment

Deborah Lee, Public Comment

Zachary Kirk, Public Comment

Sarait Escorza, Public Comment

Michael Levinson, Public Comment

Ayde Robles (Interpretation provided by Victor Hernandez), Public

Comment

Jennifer Rodriguez, Public Comment

Angela Chan, Public Comment

Madula Rambathiran, Public Comment

# **Board & Staff Comments Recognized after Public Comment:**

Sup. Dave Pine, Board of Supervisors

Sup. Don Horsley, Board of Supervisors

Sup. David J. Canepa, Board of Supervisors

Sup. Warren Slocum, Board of Supervisors

Michael P. Callagy, County Manager

#### **ADJOURNMENT**

The meeting adjourned at 9:44 p.m.