RESOLUTION NO.

BOARD OF SUPERVISORS, COUNTY OF SAN MATEO, STATE OF CALIFORNIA

* * * * * *

RESOLUTION APPOINTING TWO MEMBERS OF THE COUNTY OF SAN MATEO BOARD OF SUPERVISORS TO THE ADVISORY COMMITTEE OF THE SAN MATEO COUNTY FLOOD CONTROL DISTRICT AND TO THE GOVERNING BOARD OF THE PROPOSED SAN MATEO COUNTY FLOOD AND SEA LEVEL RISE RESILIENCY DISTRICT UPON THE EFFECTIVE DATE OF AB 825

RESOLVED, by the Board of Supervisors of the County of San Mateo, State of California, that

WHEREAS, on January 29, 2019 this Board adopted Resolution No. 076380 in support of the "Flood and Sea Level Rise Resiliency Agency Proposal" (Proposal) for the new San Mateo County Flood and Sea Level Rise Resiliency District (FSLRRD); and

WHEREAS, that Proposal includes modifying the existing San Mateo County
Flood Control District Act to enable additional water related activities and jurisdictional
areas, and to establish a new governance structure comprised of a seven-member
governing board that includes five city/town council members appointed by the
City/County Association of Governments (C/CAG) and two members of the County of
San Mateo Board of Supervisors; and

WHEREAS, in anticipation of the passage of AB 825, it is desirable for the existing Flood Control District to establish a seven-member advisory committee which, after the effective date of AB 825, will serve as the FSLRRD's board; and

WHEREAS, C/CAG approved Resolution No. 19-52 on June 13, 2019 appointing the following individuals to serve on the advisory committee:

- Maryann Moise Derwin, Town of Portola Valley, representing C/CAG's atlarge nominee;
- Donna Colson, City of Burlingame, representing C/CAG's nominee from the County's northern area;
- Diane Papan, City of San Mateo, representing C/CAG's nominee from the County's central area;
- Lisa Gauthier, City of East Palo Alto, representing C/CAG's nominee from the County's southern area; and
- Debbie Ruddock, City of Half Moon Bay, representing C/CAG's nominee from the County's coastal area; and

WHEREAS, it is proposed that Supervisor Don Horsley, as the County's District 3 Supervisor, be appointed as the County's nominee from the County's coastal area, and Supervisor Dave Pine be appointed as the County's at-large nominee to the advisory committee; and

WHEREAS, it is further recommended that Supervisors Horsley and Pine shall be the County's appointees to the FSLRRD should AB 825 become effective on January 1, 2020.

NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS HEREBY DETERMINED AND ORDERED as follows:

 The following nominees are hereby approved and authorized by this Board as the County's representatives to the advisory committee of the existing San Mateo
 County Flood Control District: Supervisor Don Horsley as the County's nominee from its coastal area and Supervisor Dave Pine as the County's at-large nominee.

2) Upon the effective date of AB 825 establishing the San Mateo County Flood and Sea Level Rise Resiliency District, the above-referenced nominees shall also be the County's appointees to the governing board of said district.

* * * * * *