Resolution

THE BOARD OF SUPERVISORS COUNTY OF SAN MATEO, STATE OF CALIFORNIA RESOLUTION HONORING AND COMMENDING

KIT COSGRIFF

Upon her retirement as

Principal of Allen Elementary School San Bruno Park School District

WHEREAS, KIT COSGRIFF is retiring after 47 years as an educator, which includes 20 years at Allen Elementary School as Principal and 3 years as principal in another public school district

WHEREAS, KIT COSGRIFF's work has exemplified a lifelong commitment to always putting children first; and

WHEREAS, during her leadership as Principal of Allen Elementary School, KIT COSGRIFF was responsible for over 2000 students in 20 years, worked with over 100 teachers, led faculty in launching STEAM education and served on numerous district committees in the areas of facilities and instructional improvement; and

WHEREAS, KIT COSGRIFF put strong focus on educational equity and closing the achievement gap, and the school's participation in the Bay Area School Reform Collaborative promoted collective data-driven inquiry into student achievement gaps and the development of systemic instructional responses to those gaps; and

WHEREAS, during her time as Principal, Allen Elementary has been recognized by Innovate Public Schools as a top-performing Bay Area school for low income Latino students in math, by the Campaign for Business and Education Excellence (CBEE) Honor Roll for demonstrating consistent high levels of student academic achievement, improvement in achievement levels over time and reduction in achievement gaps among student populations, and was a recipient of the San Mateo County School Boards Association J Russell Kent Exemplary Program Award for Allen's Academic Music Program.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Board of Supervisors of the County of San Mateo, State of California, hereby honors KIT COSGRIFF upon her retirement as Principal of Allen Elementary School, San Bruno Park School District.

SUPERVISORS:

Deputy Clerk of the Board of Supervisors

Dated: March 22, 2019

Attest:

CAROLE GROOM, President
DAVE PINE
DON HORSLEY
WARREN SLOCUM
DAVID J. CANEPA