COUNTY OF SAN MATEO BOARD OF SUPERVISORS

BOARD OF SUPERVISORS
DISTRICT 1: Dave Pine
DISTRICT 2: Carole Groom
DISTRICT 3: Don Horsley
DISTRICT 4: Warren Slocum
DISTRICT 5: David J. Canepa

COUNTY MANAGER/ CLERK OF THE BOARD Michael P. Callagy

COUNTY COUNSEL John C. Beiers HALL OF JUSTICE 400 County Center Redwood City, CA 94063 Telephone: 650-363-4123 www.smcgov.org

ONDED

MINUTES - DRAFT

Hall of Justice

Monday, February 11, 2019

6:00 PM

SPECIAL MEETING OF THE BOARD OF SUPERVISORS

Please take notice that the President of the San Mateo County Board of Supervisors, acting pursuant to the authority of Government Code §54956, hereby calls a special meeting of the San Mateo County Board of Supervisors, to take place on Monday, February 11, 2019 at 6:00 PM in the Board of Supervisors Chambers, Hall of Justice, 400 County Center, First Floor, Redwood City. Chambers will open at 5:30 PM.

In the event that Board Chambers reaches its maximum occupancy capacity, the foyer of Chambers and the Jury Room in the Hall of Justice will be open to the public to view the meeting being displayed via livestream. Legislative Aides and County Staff will be present to assist.

If you wish to speak to the Board during the meeting, please fill out a green speaker's slip as you enter the Board Chambers.

If you wish to provide a written comment during the meeting in lieu of speaking, please submit a pink written comment slip, which will be distributed to the Board and included in the official record.

If you wish to submit your written comment in advance of the meeting, please email it to:

BoardFeedback@smcgov.org.

If you have anything else that you wish distributed to the Board and included in the official record, please provide ten (10) copies and hand it to the Deputy Clerk of the Board who will distribute the information to the Board members and staff.

Meetings are accessible to people with disabilities. Individuals who need special assistance or a disability-related modification or accommodation (including auxiliary aids or services) to participate in this meeting, or who have a disability and wish to request an alternative format for the agenda, meeting notice, agenda packet or other writings that may be distributed at the meeting, should contact Sukhmani Purewal, Assistant Clerk of the Board, at least 2 working days before the meeting at (650) 363-1802 and/or spurewal@smcgov.org. Notification in advance of the meeting will enable the County to make reasonable arrangements to ensure accessibility to this meeting and the materials related to it. Attendees to this meeting are reminded that other attendees may be sensitive to various chemical based products.

If you wish to speak to the Board, please fill out a speaker's slip located in the box on the wall in the anteroom as you enter the Board Chambers. If you have anything that you wish distributed to the Board and included in the official record, please hand it to the Assistant Clerk of the Board who will distribute the information to the Board members and staff.

The meeting began at 6:00 p.m.

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

ROLL CALL

Present: 5 - Supervisor Dave Pine, Supervisor Don Horsley, Supervisor Warren Slocum, Supervisor David J. Canepa, and President Carole Groom.

Staff Present: Mr. Michael P. Callagy, County Manager/Clerk of the Board; Mr. John C. Beiers, County Counsel; and Mr. Sukhmani S. Purewal, Assistant Clerk of the Board.

ACTION TO SET AGENDA

Motion: Canepa / Second: Slocum

Yes: 5 - Pine, Groom, Slocum, Canepa, and Horsley

No: 0

REGULAR AGENDA

BOARD OF SUPERVISORS

1. Study Session on Tasers

Sponsors: Supervisor Carole Groom and Supervisor Dave Pine

Speakers recognized by the President:

Mr. John C. Beiers, San Mateo County Counsel

Mr. David A. Silberman, Chief Deputy County Counsel

Sheriff Carlos Bolanos

Undersheriff Mark Robbins

Ms. Amy Nguyen, Axon Litigation Counsel & CEW Legal Advisor

Dr. Richard M. Luceri, MD, FACC, FAHA, Former Assistant Professor of

Cardiology, University of Miami and Axon Scientific and Medical Advisory

Board

Ms. Julie Traun, Bar Association of San Francisco

Mr. Zian H. Tseng, M.D., M.A.S., UCSF

Mr. Alan Schlosser, Senior Counsel, Americal Civil Liberties Union

Supervisor Carole Groom, Board of Supervisors

Supervisor David J. Canepa, Board of Supervisors

Supervisor Dave Pine, Board of Supervisors

Supervisor Warren Slocum, Board of Supervisors

Mr. Michael Brave, Axon Director, CEW Legal

Supervisor Don Horsley, Board of Supervisors

Mr. Michael P. Callagy, County Manager

The Board recessed at 8:26 p.m. and reconvened at 8:38 p.m.

PUBLIC COMMENT

Speakers recognized by the President:

Ms. Ebele Okobi, Sister of late Mr. Chinedu Valentine Okobi

Mr. Rob Silano, Menlo Park

Mr. Martin Fox, Belmont

Ms. Carina Merrick, Redwood City

Mr. Arne Hurty, Burlingame

Ms. Deni Asnis. Pacifica

Ms. Victoria Becker. Pacifica

Ms. Deeg Gold, Pacifica

Ms. Ginny Kraus, San Mateo

Mr. Mike Dunham, Burlingame

Mr. Victor Garcia, Atherton

Ms. Stefani Willis, Burlingame

Ms. Jennifer Sisson, Daly City

Mr. Billie Norman, Redwood City - North Fair Oaks

Ms. Lauren Cory, Palo Alto

Dr. David Wilson, East Palo Alto

Ms. Laura Hinz, Burlingame

Ms. Kelly Underwood Rozmus, San Bruno

Mr. James Lee, Redwood City

Mr. Alexander Post

Mr. Lisiate Luna, San Mateo

Ms. Tovis Page, Woodside

Ms. Regina Islas, San Mateo

Ms. Kate Amoo-Gottfried, Half Moon Bay

Ms. Dolores Ragudo, Daly City

Ms. Sara Matlin, Redwood City

Rev. Kurt Heineman, Redwood City

Rev. Amie Giordano, San Mateo

Ms. Gail Sredanovic, Menlo Park

Mr. Cephus Johnson, San Jose

Ms. Beatrice Johnson, San Jose

Ms. Barbara Attard. San Francisco

Ms. Ruth Robertson, Palo Alto

Ms. Merri Jo Musni, San Francisco

Ms. Mildred Musni, San Francisco

Mr. Chet Lexvold, San Mateo

Ms. Karen Tuzman, Menlo Park

Mr. Jay Laefer, Redwood City

Mr. Dan Stegink, Pacifica

Ms. Beth Von Emster, Belmont

Ms. Sabrina Brennan

Ms. Alicia Torre, San Carlos

Mr. Aram James, Redwood City

Ms. Abhi Parekh, San Francisco

Ms. Sharon Cooper, Fremont

Mr. Jordan Grimes, San Mateo

In addition to public comment, written comments were also submitted to the Board of Supervisors and are part of the public record.

Board Comments:

Board members thanked the members of the public for coming to the Taser Study Session and offering their views on this important subject. Supervisors recognized the complexity of the issue and expressed an intention that County leaders and staff continue to think through the multitude of policy considerations that Tasers present.

ADJOURNMENT

The meeting adjourned at 10:29 p.m.