

THE BOARD OF SUPERVISORS COUNTY OF SAN MATEO, STATE OF CALIFORNIA RESOLUTION HONORING AND COMMENDING

## Deirdri Gladwin

## AS MILLBRAE

**2018 WOMAN OF THE YEAR** 

**WHEREAS**, it has come to the attention of the Board of Supervisors of the County of San Mateo, State of California, that DEIRDRI GLADWIN is being honored at Millbrae's 2018 Millbrae Man & Woman of the Year Awards Dinner for outstanding voluntary service to the community; and

**WHEREAS**, DEIRDRI GLADWIN has spent the past 34 years as an avid volunteer and youth advocate in the Millbrae community, beginning in September 1984 when she served on the Meadow Parent Teacher Association (PTA) Board, and as PTA Board President in 1985, later serving on the District-wide PTA's President Council from 1990 to 1997; and

**WHEREAS**, DEIRDRI GLADWIN held various Parent Teacher Organization (PTO) positions at Mills High School, including Secretary, Vice President and President, and served on the school site committee with the principal, teachers and parents from 1994-2004, helping to plan new school curriculum and policies; and

**WHEREAS**, DEIRDRI GLADWIN has, over the years, served on Strategic Planning Committees for the Millbrae School District and San Mateo Union High School District, helping to craft their Vision and Mission Statements and related implementation action items; and

**WHEREAS**, among DEIRDRI GLADWIN's many community contributions, she founded the Mills Drama Club in 1998, joined the Rotary Club of Millbrae in 1999 and, along with six other parents, established the Millbrae Education Foundation in 2007.

**NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED** that the Board of Supervisors of the County of San Mateo, State of California hereby honors and commends DEIRDRI GLADWIN as Millbrae's 2018 Woman of the Year for her outstanding volunteer service. The residents of Millbrae and San Mateo County have greatly benefited from the efforts of DEIRDRI GLADWIN. The Board of Supervisors extends its heartfelt appreciation and congratulations.

**Dated:** October 19, 2018

Supervisors:

DAVE PINE, President

CAROLE GROOM

DON HORSLEY

WARREN SLOCUM

DAVID J. CANEPA

Attest:

Deputy Clerk of the Board of Supervisors