## **RESOLUTION NO..**

## BOARD OF SUPERVISORS, COUNTY OF SAN MATEO, STATE OF CALIFORNIA

## RESOLUTION APPROVING STARS EMPLOYEE SUGGESTION/ INNOVATION SUMMIT AWARDS

**RESOLVED,** by the Board of Supervisors of the County of San Mateo, State of California, that

WHEREAS, the Board of Supervisors approved a Performance Incentives

Program ("San Mateo County STARS") on December 5, 2006 to recognize and reward

County programs that demonstrate outstanding customer service and program

performance; and

**WHEREAS,** in 2008 the Green and Employee Suggestion award categories were added to the STARS Awards; and

WHEREAS, in 2016 the Diversity award category was also added to the STARS Awards; and

WHEREAS, in 2015 and 2016 the Employee Suggestion award category was offered via an Innovation Summit, a day-long event for employees to collaborate with colleagues to develop and pitch ideas to improve County effectiveness and efficiencies; and

WHEREAS, the 3<sup>rd</sup> Innovation Summit was held on April 26, 2018 and a panel of County executives selected the following suggestions for awards: 1<sup>st</sup> Prize (\$2,000): Implement a Housing Portal exclusively to connect SMC employees/retirees who are homeowners and renters (Pooja Keswani, Maya Feng, Kristen Hay, Stanley Bernhard, and Simone Woods); 2<sup>nd</sup> Prize (\$1,500): Create a one-stop shop for employees to access discounted events, activities, and County parks to connect with the community they serve (Stefan Luesse, Allan Hong, Tammy Chan, Aileen Agravante, and Nancy Etman); and 3<sup>rd</sup> Prize (\$1,000): Establish a fleet of solar powered bicycles for County employees to use to travel for short trip appointments related to County business (Rachael Londer, Andrea Pappajohn, Matthew Petrofsky, Linda Wolin, and Gwen Buckley); and

WHEREAS, the Innovation Summit includes a People's Choice award (\$500) and the following suggestion was selected for an award: Establish outdoor gym at parks free to all County Employees and residents to target the goal of a healthy community (Leilani Dunton, Hend Azzerayer, and Emily Weaver); and

NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS HEREBY DETERMINED AND ORDERED that the Board of Supervisors approve the 2018 Innovation Summit Award recipients.

\* \* \* \* \* \*