

BOARD OF SUPERVISORS COUNTY OF SAN MATEO, STATE OF CALIFORNIA RESOLUTION HONORING AND COMMENDING

ZAP THE GAP ACHIEVEMENT AND OPPORTUNITY GAP SYMPOSIUM

WHEREAS, The ZAP THE GAP initiative was started 10 years ago in an effort to shine a spotlight on gaps in education and build a community of practitioners committed to providing equitable outcomes for all children and youth in San Mateo County; and,

WHEREAS, It is the intent of the ZAP THE GAP initiative to ensure that zip code, race, ethnicity, language status, immigration status, gender, gender-identity and any other factor is no longer a predictor of a student's success in school; and,

WHEREAS, In 10 years, ZAP THE GAP had a range of experts informing San Mateo County educators, educational leaders, board members and community leaders on a host of topics including bias, data, best practices, English learners, inspiring and engaging youth, involving communities, and including the stories of historically under-represented communities; and,

WHEREAS, **ZAP THE GAP**, the San Mateo County Achievement and Opportunity Gap Summit, will feature inspiring speakers, offer a report on a countywide data project, feature innovative practitioners, and provide an opportunity to learn and plan together as a community; and,

WHEREAS, ZAP THE GAP participants will also engage in thoughtful exploration of the root causes of these gaps and identify what we can do systemically and individually to mitigate policies, programs, and practices that negatively impact achievement for students of color, English learner students, students with disabilities and low income students to ensure that all students in San Mateo County receive a world-class education; and,

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the members of the San Mateo County Board of Supervisors do hereby commend the 10th ANNUAL ZAP THE GAP SYMPOSIUM for improving the outcomes of students in San Mateo County.

Dated: March 12, 2018.

Supervisors:

President Dave Pine

Carole Groom

Don Horsley

Warren Slocum

David Canepa

Attest: Deputy Clerk of the Board of Supervisors