## Resolution

THE BOARD OF SUPERVISORS
COUNTY OF SAN MATEO, STATE OF CALIFORNIA
RESOLUTION HONORING AND COMMENDING

## BEVERLY BEASLEY JOHNSON

2013 Women in County Government Distinguished Honoree

WHEREAS, BEVERLY BEASLEY JOHNSON serves as Director of the Human Services Agency; and

WHEREAS, BEVERLY BEASLEY JOHNSON has over 37 years of experience in public sector human services work with a Bachelor's Degree in Psychology from Oakland University and a Law Degree from Michigan State University Detroit College of Law; is a licensed attorney and a member of the Michigan State Bar Association; and

WHEREAS, since becoming Director of the San Mateo County Human Services Agency in 2006, BEVERLY BEASLEY JOHNSON has guided the Agency as they engaged the community in strategic planning and implemented the State's Child Welfare System Improvement Plan. She initiated cultural diversity and competency trainings and activities while focusing on addressing the issue of disproportionate representation of African American children in the child protective services system and streamlining the Agency while maintaining the highest levels of service; and

WHEREAS, BEVERLY BEASLEY JOHNSON has been at the forefront of a significant area of practice change working with the State's AB109 Parole Re-entry Program serving formerly incarcerated residents, leading her team to design and implement the innovative and award-winning "Service Connect" model. She has worked to change the perception of the Cal Fresh (formerly Food Stamps) Program from a government handout to an effective tool towards food security. With support of this Board, she partnered the County with Code for America to design an easy to use application that will connect residents to services and programs in the County of San Mateo; and

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Board of Supervisors of the County of San Mateo, State of California, hereby commends BEVERLY BEASLEY JOHNSON for contributing to the well-being of the community and extends congratulations for being named the recipient of the Women in County Government 2013 Distinguished Honor Award.

Dated: December 10, 2013

## **SUPERVISORS:**

Don Horsley, President
Dave Pine
Carole Groom
Warren Slocum
Adrienne J. Tissier