

COUNTY OF SAN MATEO Inter-Departmental Correspondence Board of Supervisors



Date: July 21, 2015 Board Meeting Date: August 4, 2015 Special Notice / Hearing: None Vote Required: Majority

To: Honorable Board of Supervisors

From: Supervisor Carole Groom

Subject: Appointments to the Youth Commission

RECOMMENDATION:

Recommendation for the appointments of 25 youth to the Youth Commission.

BACKGROUND:

The Youth Commission advises the Board of Supervisors on issues related to the youth in San Mateo County. The Board of Supervisors is responsible for appointing new members to the Youth Commission, based on interviews with applicants. The Youth Commission may have up to 25 members. Each Youth Commissioner is appointed to a one-year term of office, up to four terms until the age of 21.

DISCUSSION:

It is recommended that the Board of Supervisors appoint the following youth as members of the Youth Commission:

- 1. Roxanne Afshar Urbani, Burlingame High School
- 2. Nidhi Bandrapalli, Burlingame High School
- 3. Ben Beiers, Bellarmine High School
- 4. Bharathi Chinnakotla, Notre Dame High School
- 5. Mei-Mei Chun-Moy, College of San Mateo
- 6. Cailan Cumming, Carlmont High School
- 7. Alexander Derhacobian, Carlmont High School
- 8. Elizabeth Ford, St. Ignatius High School
- 9. Kevin Huo, San Mateo High School
- 10. Salma Ismail, Notre Dame High School
- 11. Kelly Liang, Mills High School
- 12. Annie Lu, Mills High School
- 13. Jennifer Luo, Hillsdale High School
- 14. Clara MacAvoy, Sequoia High School

15. Rodney Martinez, Archbishop Riordan High School

16. Natasha Palestino Espinoza, Redwood High School

17. Liza Pertseva, Menlo-Atherton High School

18 Sana Sheikholeslam, Menlo-Atherton High School

19. Jackson Smith, Woodside Priory School

20. Amirah Tulloch, Jefferson High School

21. Sophia Vahanvaty, Urban School

22. Noah Weinstein, Mills High School

23. Klytie Xu, Mills High School

24. Shu Yang, Aragon High School

25. Milagros Yoch, Notre Dame High School

FISCAL IMPACT:

None