

COUNTY OF SAN MATEO Inter-Departmental Correspondence Public Works



Date: October 12, 2016 Board Meeting Date: November 15, 2016 Special Notice / Hearing: None Vote Required: Majority

- To: Honorable Board of Supervisors, Acting as the Governing Board of the San Mateo County Flood Control District
- From: James C. Porter, Director of Public Works

Subject: Colma Creek Flood Control Zone Advisory Committee Appointments

# **RECOMMENDATION:**

Acting as the Governing Board of the San Mateo County Flood Control District, adopt a resolution approving the appointment of Kamala Silva Wolfe to the Colma Creek Flood Control Zone Advisory Committee as an "at large" member from the City of South San Francisco for a term expiring March 31, 2020.

# BACKGROUND:

Your Board approved the establishment of the Colma Creek Flood Control Zone Advisory Committee (Committee) in conjunction with the Colma Creek Flood Control Zone (Zone) and specified the Committee's membership, responsibilities and standing rules for governance.

Your Board adopted Standing Rules for County Boards, Commissions and Advisory Committees (Rules) in 2002. The Committee is comprised of nine members. Each city within the Colma Creek watershed (City of Pacifica, City of Daly City, City of South San Francisco, City of San Bruno, and Town of Colma) appoints one member to the Committee, and four members are appointed as "at large" members by your Board.

The terms of the members of the Committee were staggered in 2002, in order to comply with the Rules adopted by your Board.

# DISCUSSION:

Kamala Silva Wolfe is a current resident and property owner in the City of South San Francisco. Ms. Wolfe is a new "at large" member replacing another "at large" member whose term expired. Her first term will expire on March 31, 2020. The South San Francisco City Council recommends Ms. Wolfe to this Committee, which is subject to your Board's appointment. A list of the current and recommended Committee Members and their associated term expiration dates are included in the attached Exhibit "A".

County Counsel has reviewed and approved the resolution as to form.

Your Board approving the appointment will contribute to the Shared Vision 2025 outcome of a Collaborative Community by continuing the involvement of representatives of the cities and the general public within the Colma Creek Flood Control Zone in the decision making process associated with the Zone's flood control projects.

### FISCAL IMPACT:

There is no direct impact to the funds of the Colma Creek Flood Control Zone as the Committee Members serve without compensation. There is also no impact to the General Fund as all costs associated with the Zone are financed from property taxes levied by the Zone and collected within the Zone.

Attachment: Exhibit A – Members of the Colma Creek Citizens Advisory Committee and Term Expiration Dates

### Exhibit A

Members of the Colma Creek Citizens Advisory Committee and Term Expiration Dates *		
Member Name and Member Designation	Appointed by	Term Expiration
City/Town Appointed Representatives (Members)		
Helen Fisicaro, Town of Colma Representative	Colma Town Council	March 31, 2018
Irene O'Connell, City of San Bruno Representative	San Bruno City Council	March 31, 2017
Judith Christensen, City of Daly City Representative	Daly City Council	March 31, 2018
Sue Digre, City of Pacifica Representative	Pacifica City Council	March 31, 2020
Mike Futrell, City of South San Francisco Representative	South San Francisco City Council	March 31, 2018
Board of Supervisor Appointed Representatives (Members "At Large")		
Kamala Silva Wolfe, Member at large SSF	Board of Supervisors	March 31, 2020
Richard Irli, Member at large SSF	Board of Supervisors	March 31, 2017
Gail DeFries, Member at large Daly City	Board of Supervisors	March 31, 2018
Edward Bortoli, Member at large SSF	Board of Supervisors	March 31, 2018

\*Twelve-year term limit for Committee Members, unless specific exception is made by the Board of Supervisors or State law.

Notes:

- Committee has nine Members
- Five members are city representatives appointed by City Councils in the Colma Creek Flood Control Zone
- Four "at large" members are appointed by the Board of Supervisors
- All Committee Members must be property owners residing in the Colma Creek Flood Control Zone
- Committee Members appointed by City Councils must reside in the City