

# **COUNTY OF SAN MATEO**

Inter-Departmental Correspondence Public Works



**Date:** August 4, 2014

Board Meeting Date: September 9, 2014

Special Notice / Hearing: None Vote Required: Majority

**To:** Honorable Board of Supervisors, Acting as the Governing Board of the San

Mateo County Flood Control District

**From:** James C. Porter, Director of Public Works

**Subject:** Colma Creek Flood Control Zone Advisory Committee Appointments

# **RECOMMENDATION:**

Acting as the Governing Board of the San Mateo County Flood Control District, adopt a Resolution:

- A) Making an exception to the County Boards, Commissions, and Advisory Committees Standing Rules to allow for members of the Colma Creek Flood Control Zone Advisory Committee to serve more than twelve years.
- B) Approving the appointment of members to the Colma Creek Flood Control Zone Advisory Committee:
  - 1. Helen Fisicaro as the Town of Colma representative for the term expiring March 31, 2018; and
  - 2. Carol Klatt as the City of Daly City representative for the term expiring March 31, 2018; and
  - 3. Irene O'Connell as the City of San Bruno representative for the term expiring March 31, 2017; and
  - 4. Mike Futrell as the City of South San Francisco representative for the term expiring March 31, 2018; and
  - 5. Gail DeFries as an "at large" member from the City of Daly City for the term expiring March 31, 2018; and
  - 6. Richard Irli and Edward Bortoli as "at large" members from the City of South San Francisco for the terms expiring March 31, 2017 and March 31, 2018, respectively.

### **BACKGROUND:**

Your Board approved the establishment of the Colma Creek Flood Control Zone Advisory Committee (Committee) in conjunction with the Colma Creek Flood Control Zone (Zone) and specified the Committee's membership, responsibilities and standing rules for governance.

Your Board adopted Standing Rules for County Boards, Commissions and Advisory Committees (Rules) in 2002. The Rules allow your Board to make specific exceptions to allow committee members to serve more than the twelve-year limit.

The Committee is comprised of nine members. Each city within the Colma Creek watershed (City of Pacifica, City of Daly City, City of South San Francisco, City of San Bruno, and Town of Colma) appoints one member to the Committee, and four members are appointed as "at large" members by your Board.

The terms of the members of the Committee were staggered in 2002, in order to comply with the Rules adopted by your Board.

# **DISCUSSION:**

Two members of the Committee, Helen Fisicaro representing the Town of Colma and Gail DeFries representing the City of Daly City have served the maximum 12-years specified in the Rules adopted by your Board. Both members have expressed their dedication in representing before the Board the residents and property owners of the Zone and interest in continuing serving on the Committee. With their years of experience, Ms. Fisicaro and Ms. DeFries will be positioned to continue to provide valuable input to the Committee on issues related to the Zone. In addition, recruitments for new members in recent years have resulted in few or no applicants interested in the positions.

The recommended city appointed members and "at large" members have been appointed by their respective councils as defined by the Rules.

The Colma Town Council has requested that councilmember Helen Fisicaro continue to represent the Town on the Committee and we are recommending that an exception be granted and approve her reappointment for another 4-year term to expire on March 31, 2018.

The Daly City Council has reappointed Carol Klatt to the Committee to another term, which will expire on March 31, 2018.

The San Bruno City Council has reappointed Irene O'Connell to the Committee to another term, which will expire on March 31, 2017.

Mike Futrell is the City Manager of the City of South San Francisco appointed to the Committee by the City Council to replace the position on the Committee vacated by

Barry Nagel, who served on the Committee from 2009 to 2013. Mr. Futrell's term will expire on March 31, 2018.

Gail DeFries is a current resident and property owner in the City of Daly City. Ms. DeFries has served as an "at large" member of the Committee since April 2002. Ms. DeFries wishes to continue to represent the Town on the Committee and we are recommending that an exception be granted and approve her reappointment for another 4-year term to expire on March 31, 2018.

Richard Irli is a current resident and property owner in the City of South San Francisco. Mr. Erli is a new "at large" member replacing another "at large" member who resigned. His first term will expire on March 31, 2017.

Edward Bortoli is also a current resident and property owner in the City of South San Francisco. Mr. Bortoli is a new "at large" member replacing another "at large" member who recently passed away. His first term will expire on March 31, 2018.

A list of the current and recommended Committee Members and their associated term expiration dates are included in the attached Exhibit "A".

County Counsel has reviewed and approved the Resolution as to form.

Your Board approving the appointments will contribute to the Shared Vision 2025 outcome of a Collaborative Community by continuing the involvement of representatives of the cities and the general public within the Colma Creek Flood Control Zone in the decision making process associated with the Zone's flood control projects.

### **FISCAL IMPACT:**

There is no direct impact to the funds of the Colma Creek Flood Control Zone as the Committee Members serve without compensation. There is also no impact to the General Fund as all costs associated with the Zone are financed from property taxes levied by the Zone and collected within the Zone.

Attachment: Exhibit "A" – Members of the Colma Creek Citizens Advisory Committee and Term Expiration Dates

# Exhibit "A"

Members of the Colma Creek Citizens Advisory Committee and Term Expiration Dates *		
Member Name and Member Designation	Appointed by	Term Expiration
City/Town Appointed Representatives (Members)		
Helen Fisicaro, Town of Colma Representative	Colma Town Council	March 31, 2018
Irene O'Connell, City of San Bruno Representative	San Bruno City Council	March 31, 2017
Carol Klatt, City of Daly City Representative	Daly City Council	March 31, 2018
Sue Digre, City of Pacifica Representative	Pacifica City Council	March 31, 2016
Mike Futrell, City of South San Francisco Representative	South San Francisco City Council	March 31, 2018
Board of Supervisor Appointed Representatives (Members "At Large")		
Sam Bonanno, Member at large SSF	Board of Supervisors	March 31, 2016
Richard Irli, Member at large SSF	Board of Supervisors	March 31, 2017
Gail DeFries, Member at large Daly City	Board of Supervisors	March 31, 2018
Edward Bortoli, Member at large SSF	Board of Supervisors	March 31, 2018

<sup>\*</sup>Twelve-year term limit for Committee Members, unless specific exception is made by Board of Supervisors or State law.

### Notes:

- Committee has 9 Members
- 5 members are city representatives appointed by City Councils in the Colma Creek Flood Control Zone
- 4 "at large" members are appointed by the Board of Supervisors
- All Committee Members must be property owners residing in the Colma Creek Flood Control Zone
- Committee Members appointed by City Councils must reside in the City