

COUNTY OF SAN MATEO

Inter-Departmental Correspondence Board of Supervisors



Date: August 12, 2014

Board Meeting Date: September 9, 2014

Special Notice / Hearing: None Vote Required: Majority

To: Honorable Board of Supervisors

From: Supervisor Carole Groom

Subject: Appointments to the Youth Commission

RECOMMENDATION:

Recommendation for the appointments of 25 youth to the Youth Commission.

BACKGROUND:

The Youth Commission advises the Board of Supervisors on issues related to the youth in San Mateo County. The Board of Supervisors is responsible for appointing new members to the Youth Commission, based on interviews with applicants. The Youth Commission may have up to 25 members. Each Youth Commissioner is appointed to a one-year term of office, up to four terms until the age of 21.

DISCUSSION:

It is recommended that the Board of Supervisors appoint the following youth as members of the Youth Commission:

- 1. Yianni Alevizos, Serra High School
- 2. Nidhi Bandrapalli, Burlingame High School
- 3. Ben Beiers, Bellarmine High School
- 4. Bharathi Chinnakotla, Notre Dame High School
- 5. Mei-Mei Chunn-Moy, Burlingame High School
- 6. Cailan Cumming, Carlmont High School
- 7. Natasha Palestino Espinoza, Redwood High School
- 8. Elizabeth Ford, St. Ignatius High School
- 9. Jessica Grima, Woodside High School
- 10. Maxwell Heller, Menlo-Atherton High School
- 11. Salma Ismail, Notre Dame High School
- 12. Andrew Joo, Carlmont High School
- 13. Kelly Liang, Mills High School
- 14. Jessica Luo, Hillsdale High School

- 15. Clara MacAvoy, Sequoia High School
- 16. Luca Richardson, Sequoia High School
- 17. Henry Ruehl, Crystal Springs Uplands School
- 18. Michael Stark, Menlo-Atherton High School
- 19. Amirah Tulloch, Jefferson High School
- 20. Roxanne Afshar Urbani, Burlingame High School
- 21. Maxwell Weinstein, Mills High School
- 22. Noah Weinstein, Mills High School
- 23. Klytie Xu, Mills High School
- 24. Shu Yang, Aragon High School
- 25. David Zhou, Burlingame High School