

THE BOARD OF SUPERVISORS, COUNTY OF SAN MATEO, STATE OF CALIFORNIA DESIGNATING APRIL 24, 2012 AS

## ARMENIAN GENOCIDE **COMMEMORATION DAY**

WHEREAS, San Mateo County is home to a significant Armenian American population with leaders in every aspect of civic life including business, government and community service organizations, and are part of the fabric of San Mateo County life; and

WHEREAS, the Armenian people were subjected to sever persecution and brutal injustice by the government of the Ottoman Empire before and after the turn of the twentieth century, and the horrific experience of the Armenians at the hands of the Ottoman Turkish government culminated in 1915 in what is known by historians as the first genocide of the twentieth century; and

**WHEREAS**, the Ottoman authorities planned and executed unspeakable atrocities committed against the Armenian people from 1915 through 1923, which included torture, starvation and murder of 1,500,000 Armenians, death marches in the Syrian desert, the forced exile of more than 500,000 innocent people, the loss of the traditional Armenian homelands; and

**WHEREAS**, the Republic of Turkey unjustifiably and adamantly denies the occurrence of these crimes against humanity while actively continuing to remove traces of Armenian existence, including the destruction of cultural heritage; and

**WHEREAS**, the International Association of Genocide Scholars has repeatedly affirmed that the massacres of the Armenians ordered by the Young Turk government constitutes genocide; and

**NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT PROCLAIMED** that the Board of Supervisors of the County of San Mateo, State of California, hereby designates April 24th, 2012, as Armenian Genocide Commemoration Day is proud to join the Armenian-American community in its commemoration of the 97th anniversary of the Armenian Genocide in an effort to educate others about the tragic loss of life, land and human rights and the crime of genocide committed against them.

Dated: April 24, 2012

## CHDEDVICADE.

	Jui Livijoks.	
		ADRIENNE J. TISSIER, President
		DAVE PINE
		CAROLE GROOM
		DON HORSLEY
		ROSE JACOBS GIBSON
ttest:		

A