RESOLUTION

THE BOARD OF SUPERVISORS, COUNTY OF SAN MATEO, STATE OF CALIFORNIA RESOLUTION HONORING AND COMMENDING

ABBOTT MIDDLE SCHOOL

UPON ITS 60TH ANNIVERSARY

WHEREAS, ABBOTT MIDDLE SCHOOL opened on November 10, 1954 and began educating students 60 years ago; and

WHEREAS, ABBOTT MIDDLE SCHOOL's first principal, Mr. Joe Heschele, served from 1954-1963; and

WHEREAS, in 1989, the school received the Distinguished School Award; and

WHEREAS, Ms. Patricia Stahler served as the school's principal from 1994-2000 and became the first female principal of ABBOTT MIDDLE SCHOOL; and

WHEREAS, in 2001, the Library and Media Center Open House and Dedication was held; and

WHEREAS, in 2006, ABBOTT MIDDLE SCHOOL began a year-round school calendar; and

WHEREAS, the No Bully Program has been implemented, and is now called the Campus Climate Committee, and engages staff, teachers, students, and parents and was awarded the 2014 Kent Award, one of only two schools in its district and one of 16 in the County to receive this prestigious award; and

WHEREAS, Abbott is one of the only schools in its district each year to have 100% participation in the Parent Teacher Association (PTA) by Abbott teachers and staff, demonstrating the dedication of the teachers and staff and exemplary leadership of the current principal, Ms. Cathy Ennon,

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Board of Supervisors of the County of San Mateo, State of California, recognizes and honors ABBOTT MIDDLE SCHOOL on 60 remarkable years of educating children and serving our community and wishes Abbott Middle School continued success.

Dated: October 21, 2014	
Supervisors:	Dave Pine, President
	Carole Groom
	Don Horsley
	Warren Slocum
	Adrienne J. Tissier

Attest: Deputy Clerk of the Board of Supervisors