

CITY/COUNTY ASSOCIATION OF GOVERNMENTS OF SAN MATEO COUNTY

 Atherton • Belmont • Brisbane • Burlingame • Colma • Daly City • East Palo Alto • Foster City • Half Moon Bay • Hillsborough • Menlo Park • Millbrae • Pacifica •

 Portola Valley • Redwood City • San Bruno • San Carlos • San Mateo • San Mateo County • South San Francisco • Woodside

July 14, 2014

James C. Porter County of San Mateo Department of Public Works 555 County Center – 5th Floor Redwood City, CA 94063

Dear Mr. Porter:

This letter is to inform you that the City and County Association of Governments (C/CAG) as the Local Task Force (LTF) to the California Department of Resources Recycling and Recovery (CalRecycle), has reviewed the elements of the existing Countywide Integrated Waste Management Plan (CIWMP) documents.

We find the original planning documents and those updated in the annual reports of each jurisdiction, are still applicable and useful planning tools with one exception, the countywide non-disposal facility element (NDFE).

The County of San Mateo, in its 2009 five-year review cycle, established a countywide NDFE for the jurisdictions in San Mateo County to use as a reference for updating their individual NDFE's. There has been at least one change, namely the closure of the Ferma – SRDC facility in Redwood City. The site remains a permitted facility.

The County of San Mateo, Department of Public Works staff should complete the required five-year CIWMP review and determine, with support from CalRecycle, if these revisions are necessary.

Sincerely,

2 Dilat

Mary Ann Nihart C/CAG Chair