## RESOLUTION

THE BOARD OF SUPERVISORS
COUNTY OF SAN MATEO, STATE OF CALIFORNIA
RESOLUTION HONORS AND COMMENDS

## 30th Anniversary of East Palo Alto

WHEREAS, following several unsuccessful attempts by voters in previous decades, the City of East Palo Alto became incorporated on July 1, 1983 on a 15-vote electoral victory which prompted several legal challenges threatening the very existence of the city until 1985 when the California State Supreme Court let the election results stand and East Palo Alto became the 20<sup>th</sup> city in San Mateo County; and

**WHEREAS**, the voters of the **City of East Palo Alto** elected Barbara Mouton, Gertrude Wilks, Frank J. Omowale Satterwhite, Ruben Abrica, and James E. Blakey, Jr. to the first city council; and

WHEREAS, since incorporation, the City of East Palo Alto has prioritized the establishment of a local police force, protected affordable housing, and built the foundation for future revenues by establishing a redevelopment agency; and

WHEREAS, the City of East Palo Alto, with great courage and regional support, overcame an epic crime and violence wave in 1994, dramatically reducing crime and violence in the last ten years due to a continued emphasis on community policing and programs to engage youth; and

WHEREAS, in the late 1990s and early 2000s, the City of East Palo Alto underwent a period of significant economic development in the Ravenswood 101 and University Circle areas, and in addition, in recent years the city undertook an extensive program of street improvements including the construction of sidewalks, particularly in areas leading to schools; and

WHEREAS, the City of East Palo Alto and the County of San Mateo have a strong, positive relationship and work closely together to ensure that the health and well-being, safety, job training, employment, and social service needs of the community are met; and

**NOW, THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED** that the Board of Supervisors of San Mateo County hereby honors the **City of East Palo Alto**, salutes its progress, and celebrates this historic 30<sup>th</sup> Anniversary!

ed: SUPERVISORS:	
Sel En Isons.	
	DON HORSLEY, PRESIDENT
	DAVE PINE
	CAROLE GROOM
	WARREN SLOCUM
	ADRIENNE J. TISSIER
: Deputy Clerk of the Board of Supervisor	 ors