## RESOLUTION

THE BOARD OF SUPERVISORS COUNTY OF SAN MATEO, STATE OF CALIFORNIA RESOLUTION HONORING AND COMMENDING

## BAY AREA WATER SUPPLY AND CONSERVATION AGENCY

## BAWSCA 10 YEAR ANNIVERSARY

**WHEREAS**, the Bay Area Water Supply and Conservation Agency (BAWSCA) completes its first ten years in May 2013 and has delivered valuable, concrete results for 1,700,000 residents, 30,000 businesses and thousands of community organizations in Alameda, San Mateo, and Santa Clara Counties who depend on the San Francisco Regional Water System; and

**WHEREAS**, work by BAWSCA has led to California legislation to protect the health, safety, and economic well-being of residents, businesses, and community organizations in Alameda, San Mateo, and Santa Clara counties who depend on the San Francisco Regional Water System; and

**WHEREAS**, BAWSCA negotiated a 25-year Water Supply Agreement with San Francisco that greatly expands San Francisco's commitments to water customers who pay two-thirds of the cost of the regional water system and saved them \$140 million they would have paid under the terms of the previous agreement; and

WHEREAS, BAWSCA has been recognized for award-winning regional water-conservation programs and, with its member agencies, initiated the first Long-Term Reliable Water Supply Strategy for the region; and

**WHEREAS**, among BAWSCA'S many accomplishments, it performed continuous monitoring of the \$4.6 billion rebuilding program that led to 16 recommendations accepted by San Francisco to keep the program on scope, on budget, and on schedule, issued bonds to prepay a capital debt owed to San Francisco resulting in \$62 million saved over the next 21 years, saved \$17 million over the last 18 years by reviewing and correcting San Francisco's allocation of costs.

**NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED** that the Board of Supervisors of the County of San Mateo, State of California, on May 16, 2013 hereby commends and honors The Bay Area Water Supply and Conservation Agency (BAWSCA) on its 10 year anniversary.

Dated: May 16, 2013

DON HORSLEY, President
DAVE PINE
CAROLE GROOM
WARREN SLOCUM
ADRIENNE J. TISSIER