

COUNTY OF SAN MATEO

Inter-Departmental Correspondence Board of Supervisors



Date: July 18, 2012 Board Meeting Date: August 14, 2012 Special Notice / Hearing: None Vote Required: Majority

To: Honorable Board of Supervisors

From: Supervisor Carole Groom

Subject: Appointments to the Youth Commission

## **RECOMMENDATION:**

Appoint the 13 youth listed below to the Youth Commission

## BACKGROUND:

The Youth Commission advises the Board of Supervisors on issues related to the youth in San Mateo County. The Board of Supervisors is responsible for appointing new members to the Youth Commission, based on interviews with applicants. The Youth Commission may have up to 25 members. Each Youth Commissioner is appointed to a term lasting up to four years or until their graduation, resignation from the Commission, or transfer from their school. For the 2012-2013 year, there were 13 vacancies.

## DISCUSSION:

It is recommended that the Board of Supervisors appoint the following youth as members to the Youth Commission:

- 1. Felipe Afandor- San Mateo High School
- 2. Albert Boe- Aragon High School
- 3. Gurjeet Chahal- East Palo Alto Academy High School
- 4. Araceli Efigenio- Sequoia High School
- 5. Samantha Fell- St. Ignatius College Preparatory
- 6. Juan Carlos Gabriel- East Palo Alto Academy High School
- 7. Jennifer Kao- Mills High School
- 8. Kenia Miranda- Mid-Peninsula High School
- 9. Christine Pubill- Alma Heights Christian Academy
- 10. Henry Ruehl- Crystal Springs Uplands School
- 11. Samantha Siu- Mills High School
- 12. Rebecca Stark- Sequoia High School
- 13. Maxwell Weinstein- Mills High School

## FISCAL IMPACT:

None