

Department Liaison: San Mateo County Office of Sustainability 455 County Center, 4th Floor Redwood City, CA 94063 Phone: (888) 442-2666 www.smcsustainability.org

October 20, 2022

Ann M. Stillman Director of Public Works 555 County Center, 5th Floor Redwood City, CA 94063

RE: Support Letter for the San Mateo County Unincorporated Local Road Safety Plan

Dear Ms. Stillman:

The San Mateo County Bicycle and Pedestrian Advisory Committee (BPAC) strongly supports this Local Road Safety Plan for the unincorporated San Mateo County. This Plan is essential to guiding the implementation of safety improvements for all users of the roads maintained and operated by the County. This includes safety enhancements for pedestrians, bicyclists, and motor vehicles

The Local Road Safety Plan systematically identifies the roads and intersections that need the most attention. It then recommends proven countermeasures based on collisions types frequently observed on the roadway and intersection. As a result, the Plan will provide improvements with the greatest impacts to enhancing safety for the County's unincorporated communities.

However, we also bring to your attention our reservations regarding the way some of the collision reporting has been prepared by local and State law enforcement agencies and that data drawn from the California Statewide Integrated Traffic Records System (SWITRS) is not inclusive in reporting all bicycle and pedestrian collisions or near misses. As we have noted in the past, we believe the vast majority of bicycle and pedestrian collisions are unreported, which means that the scale of the problem and the direction of historical trends might not be completely reflected in the data. We do, however, believe that the conclusions are consistent with our own experience as pedestrians and cyclists

Sincerely,

Fred Zyda, Chair

San Mateo County Bicycle and Pedestrian Advisory Committee

cc: San Matteo County Board of Supervisors Carolyn Bloede

redowl got

COMMITTEE MEMBERS:

Fred Zyda, *Chair*Elaine Salinger, *Vice Chair*Susan Doherty
Bill Kelly
John Langbein

Cristina Aquino (Alternate) Annie Tsai (Alternate)

