## Resolution

THE BOARD OF SUPERVISORS
COUNTY OF SAN MATEO, STATE OF CALIFORNIA
RESOLUTION HONORING AND COMMENDING

## Diane Howard

**WHEREAS, Diane Howard** was first elected to the Redwood City Council in 1994, serving until 2009, and re-elected in 2013. She served as Mayor from 1997-1999 and most recently from 2019-2021; and

WHEREAS, Diane Howard has held many regional board and committee appointments during her tenure on the Redwood City Council, including Home for All Advisory Board, 150<sup>th</sup> Sesquicentennial Committee, Chair of the Pride and Beautification Committee, Co-Chair of the San Mateo County Water Transit Advocates, City and County Association of Governments of San Mateo County, Chair of the Water Emergency Transit Authority Citizens Advisory Committee; and

WHEREAS, Diane Howard has also been the consummate volunteer in her community, serving on the boards of the Sequoia YMCA, Kainos Home and Training Center, Redwood City International, Redwood City Parks and Arts Foundation and the San Mateo County Chamber of Commerce. She has also been active in the American Heart Association, American Cancer Society, Relay for Life, and Arts Redwood City; and

**WHEREAS, Diane Howard** has been recognized for her leadership and service as the Sequoia Outstanding Individual Award in 2016-2017 the Silicon Valley Volunteer Recognition Award for Service to the Sequoia YMCA (2010-2011), and the YMCA Mid-Peninsula Red Triangle for Volunteerism (203-2004); and

**WHEREAS, Diane Howard** is a 37-year resident of Redwood City, where she and husband Dr. Steven Howard raised their son Geoffrey, a former Marine and current nurse.

**NOW, therefore be it resolved** that the Board of Supervisors of San Mateo County hereby honors and commends **Diane Howard** for her outstanding leadership and tireless dedication to the City of Redwood City as Mayor for the past two years, particularly during the COVID19 pandemic, and beyond, and to the residents San Mateo County.

Dated: December 6, 2021

**SUPERVISORS:** 

0 411 211 / 10 0 110 /	
	DAVID CANEPA, PRESIDENT
	DAVE PINE
	CAROLE GROOM
	DON HORSLEY
	WARREN SLOCUM
Deputy Clerk of the Board of	Supervisors