Resolution

THE BOARD OF SUPERVISORS
COUNTY OF SAN MATEO, STATE OF CALIFORNIA
RESOLUTION HONORING AND COMMENDING

Kimberly Hines

WHEREAS, **Kimberly Hines** was elected to the Board of Trustees of the Cabrillo Unified School District in 2015, serving the community of Half Moon Bay and the mid-coast; and

WHEREAS, Kimberly Hines' dedication to improving the educational lives of all children and commitment to public service is driven by her experiences with her employer, NASA, and desiring that the innovations and opportunities are available to all; and

WHEREAS, Kimberly Hines has further brought her skillset and expertise to the Board of Trustees by working to analyze complex issues and developing innovative solutions, working collaboratively with her fellow members of the Board of Trustees, the District staff and the community; and

WHEREAS, one of Kimberly Hines' many accomplishments while on the Board of Trustees includes working on the successful passage of a parcel tax and bond to support the District; and

WHEREAS, Kimberly Hines served as President several times during her tenure in office, including during the COVID-19 shutdown of schools and she successfully facilitated the response and transition to online learning for students; and exhibited leadership once again as President when searching for a new Superintendent in 2024, holding numerous listening sessions and significant public outreach; and

WHEREAS, Kimberly Hines' special emphasis on funding balance for all schools in the District and across San Mateo County is notable in the efforts to build equity and lift up the needs of all students; and her transparency and outreach to the community has been foundational to her leadership and service on the Board.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Board of Supervisors of the County of San Mateo, State of California, hereby honors and commends **Kimberly Hines** for her dedication and commitment to the residents of the coastside and San Mateo County and extends its congratulations and best wishes for continued success and service to the community.

Supervisors:

Warren Slocum, President

Dave Pine

Noelia Corzo

Ray Mueller

David J. Canepa

Attest: Deputy Clerk of the Board of Supervisors

Dated: December 12, 2024