Resolution

THE BOARD OF SUPERVISORS COUNTY OF SAN MATEO, STATE OF CALIFORNIA RESOLUTION HONORING AND COMMENDING

WUNDERLICH COUNTY PARK

On Its 50th Anniversary

WHEREAS, the area now known as Wunderlich County Park was inhabited for centuries by the Lamchin tribe of the Ohlone people, and entered into recorded history in November 1769 when the first Portola expedition camped in the Woodside Valley; and

WHEREAS, in 1840, Governor Alvarado declared a 12,500-acre Mexican land grant containing the future Wunderlich County Park in the Canada de Raymundo Rancho, and subsequently subdivided the land into smaller parcels that would include both the first sawmill on the peninsula and a working ranch before the land was eventually sold to the famous Folger coffee family 1902, building a mansion and stable on the property and changing the use of the land from production to largely recreation; and

WHEREAS, in 1956, the land was again sold to contractor Martin Wunderlich, who, nearly 20 years later, in 1974, donated 940 acres to the County of San Mateo for use of the redwood forest, open meadows and extensive trails as public park and open space; and

WHEREAS, the Friends of Huddart and Wunderlich Parks is a non-profit organization formed to promote the local environment and historic legacies of the two parks, raising funds, renovating and now conducting educational programs for the public; and

WHEREAS, after becoming part of Wunderlich Park, the historic Folger stable was privately leased until 2006 with renovations completed in 2010, which led to the listing of the stable, carriage house, blacksmith barn, dairy house, and stone walls as the Folger Estate Stable Historic District on the National Register of Historic Places.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Board of Supervisors of the County of San Mateo, State of California, hereby commends the San Mateo County Parks Department, Friends of Huddart and Wunderlich Parks and the many volunteers who maintain the trails and other visitor serving areas on its 50th anniversary and extends best wishes for ongoing success!

Dated: March 12, 2024

Supervisors:
Warren Slocum, President
Dave Pine
Noelia Corzo
Ray Mueller
David J. Canepa