

THE BOARD OF SUPERVISORS COUNTY OF SAN MATEO, STATE OF CALIFORNIA RESOLUTION HONORING AND COMMENDING

TOWN OF ATHERTON

On Its Centennial Celebration

WHEREAS, in 1866, Atherton was known as Fair Oaks and a smaller region within Menlo Park, once a part of Rancho de las Pulgas, and was a flag stop on the California Coast for the Southern Pacific Railroad between San Francisco and San Jose for the convenience of the owners of large estates living north of Menlo Park; and

WHEREAS, in 1923, Menlo Park formally incorporated its lands to include Fair Oaks, however during a meeting of representatives from the two communities, the Fair Oaks property owners determined to maintain their own community culture as a strictly residential area and subsequently incorporated independently at the Town of Atherton on September 12, 1923; and

WHEREAS, the Town of Atherton was named in honor of Faxon Dean Atherton, a trader of tallow, hides and merchandise from Massachusetts, who transplanted to the south of the San Francisco Peninsula in search of business opportunities, ultimately purchasing over 600 acres in 1860 and constructing his home, Valparaiso Park, in the region; and

WHEREAS, Edward E. Eyre served as the first Mayor and, in 1928, the residents voted to build a Town Hall that is still in use today and heart of the town, along with the 22-acre Holbrook-Palmer Estate Park donated to the Town in 1958 that is listed on the National Register of Historic Places for the building architecture; and

WHEREAS, Atherton is known for the canopy of foliage, and takes pride as a nationally recognized "Tree City" for 33 years, boasting native live oaks, white oaks, bays, redwoods, cedars, pines, and other trees covering the six square miles of town,

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Board of Supervisors of the County of San Mateo, State of California, hereby commends the **TOWN OF ATHERTON** on its Centennial Celebration and extends best wishes for ongoing success!

Dated: August 24, 2023

Supervisors:

Dave Pine, President

Noelia Corzo

Ray Mueller

Warren Slocum

David J. Canepa